Nearly 200 years old, Oakley
Plantation (pictured above) is nestled in a beautiful 100-acre
state park. It is most notable for its famous resident, John
James Audubon. Audubon arrived at Oakley in 1821 and painted
more than 80 birds in his "Birds of America" series in
gardens at Afton Villa (pictured on introduction page),
inspired by the fabulous gardens of 18th-century France, have been
restored to their original grandeur. In spring, camellias and
azaleas bloom in profusion amidst stunning, moss-draped oak alleys
and classic statuary.
Of Historic Interest
Francisville Main Street
Spend the day in a fascinating journey back in time as you
browse through unique shops, a general store, art galleries, and
9247 US Hwy 61
Site of Gothic Mansion that burned in 1963, approached by
serpentine avenue of oaks and azaleas. Open in season. Fee
8345 US Hwy 61
Plantation established in 1795, and still in original
family. Elaborate Victorian formal parlor and extensive gardens.
Open daily 9- 5, Sunday 1 - 5. Overnight guests; shop. Fee
9508 US Hwy 61
Pleasant late Victorian home filled with family treasures
of five generations. Park-like natural setting. Open daily 10-12
and 2-4. Closed December and January except by appointment. Fee
10528 Cottage Lane
Shed roof protects 100-foot gallery on this early 1800
house surrounded by 10 original dependencies. Overnight guests,
swimming pool, shop. Open 9-5. Fee charged.
Famed Greek Revival home built in 1830, destroyed by fire
in 1960 and reconstructed in 1980. Open daily, March to November
9-5; November to March 10-4. Fee charged.
7747 US Hwy 61
Circa - 1796 ~ 200 years of Elegance and Intrigue. Restored
mansion filled with art treasures and antiques revealing French
influence. Open daily 9-5. Overnight guests. Fee charged.
|Oakley House at
Audubon State Park
11788 LA Hwy 965
West Indies influence apparent in house where Audubon
tutored. Furniture in late Federal style. Open daily 9-5. Park
entrance fee charged. NC to senior citizens.
Historical Society Museum
In St. Francisville on Ferdinand Street. Former hardware
store restored to house museum featuring flag-bedecked walls,
wire sculptures of early residents and charming miniature rooms.
Ticket office for noted Audubon Pilgrimage. Tourist information.
Admission free. Open daily 9-5, Sunday 9:30-5.
Conservancy Mary Ann Brown Preserve
109 acres offering approximately 2 miles of trails and
gardens for public use. Primitive camping and picnic areas
available with reservation.
|The graceful Gothic
architecture of Grace Episcopal
Church, dedicated on Easter, 1860, is surrounded
by centuries-old oaks. It is but one of several 19th-
Century churches still in use today.
rich and diverse ancestry is
preserved in the area's many historic cemeteries
which stand as silent sentinels to a colorful past.
Episcopal (pictured above)
Established in 1827. Present structure, 1858. Surrounded
by historical cemetery and stately oaks.
Lady of Mount Carmel Catholic
Built from plans drawn by Confederate General P.G.T.
Beauregard in 1871.
Built in 1899 to replace flood damaged church in Old Town
of Bayou Sara.