and Rough & Ready
Places to Swim
of Nevada County
112 Nevada City
Highway, Nevada City, California 95959.
Exit Ridge Rd. off of highway 49 and turn left on to
Nevada City highway.
The Imaginarium of Nevada County is an interactive
science center. Modeled after the San Francisco Exploratorium,
it is a resource for hands-on science, nature, and technology
experiences for local residents and visitors to our community.
The Imaginarium is in
the beautifully renovated Armory building. On weekdays, the
Imaginarium is available for classroom teachers and students.
After school, high school and college students, educators, and
mentors are encouraged to use the facility.
On weekends, residents
and visitors to the community may experience learning family
activity. All visitors to the Imaginarium are greeted by
trained docents from the community.
ext. 231 for information
City Carriage Company
Carriage rides run everyday during the summer and partial
schedules the rest of the year. The carriages arrive and
depart from in front of the Buttonworks or the National Hotel.
During the evening, they arrive and depart from in front of
Friar Tuck's Restaurant. Look for `Carriage for Hire sign to
find location for arrivals and departures.
The carriage company
uses only registered Percheron Draft horses to pull the
carriages in town. Dapple grey and black beauties have been
selected for their strength, willingness to work, and docile
temperament. In addition to toting carriages, they are used
for farming, breeding, and hauling logs out of the forest.
City Walking Tour
South Yuba Canal
Building, Ott's Assay Office
The oldest business buildings in Nevada City. the South
Yuba Canal Building (1855), California historical Landmark
(CHL), N. 832 was first a drugs store and then offices for the
state's largest water system. It now houses the Chamber of
Commerce. Ott's (1857) is where James J. Ott assayed ore
samples in that led to the famous Comstock Lode silver rush in
Firehouse No. 1
One of the most photographed buildings in the Gold
Country. The Victorian bell tower and gingerbread trim were
added later to this 1861 building which housed Nevada Hose
Company No. 1. Now a museum.
The National Hotel
The state's oldest, continuously operating hotel consists
of four buildings constructed in 1854 and 1856-57. An
excellent representation of the early-day hostelry, the
National offers lodging with old-fashioned hospitality.
The Nevada Theatre
This 1865 brick structure is the oldest building in the
state erected as a theatre. Today it provides a stage for
Northern California's finest performing arts groups, concerts
and other activities.
Firehouse No. 2
Built in 1861, this venerable brick firehouse near the top of
Broad Street housed one of Nevada City's first volunteer fire
companies. It is owned by the city and still used as a
Now a community center, the foundry, built in 1856,
contributed technology for mining, skiing, and other
industries. The Pelton Wheel was built here in 1878. Several
special events each year and home to non-profit radio KVMR,
Nevada City Winery
The Nevada City area is gaining a wide reputation for its
excellent wines. The award-winning winery is located in the
old tin building at Miners Foundry. Tasting and sales
Built in 1856 by civic leader and former U.S. Senator
Aaron A. Sargent, this carefully restored and landscaped home
is one of the most viewed in town . Now a bed and breakfast
The Gault Bridge
This historic bridge across Deer Creek dates to 1908 and
is named after a former mayor. The bridge replaced an 1862
suspension bridge built by Andrew Hallidie, father of San
Francisco's cable cars.
Nevada County justice has been dispensed here since 1855.
The original courthouse burned in 1856, was rebuilt by 1864
and remodeled in 1937. The Courthouse Annex was completed in
1964. See the Butterfly Collection in the main hall.
Holiday Lodge, 1221 E.
Main Street, Grass Valley,
...Minimum four persons. Advance notice requests.
Departure time 9:30 a.m. (preferred)
...Based on availability of guide...Transportation,
equipment, and the river provided.
Old Hwy. 20 out of Grass Valley to picturesque Bitney Springs
Road, right to Pleasant Valley Road, right to park.
Site includes longest single span covered bridge in
existence, ranger station. Gold panning tours available. Hands
and pans only.
For more info, contact (530) 432-2546.
Washington: East of Nevada City off Hwy. 20.
Pan at local camp grounds, Tahoe National Forest (TNF)
Keleher Picnic Area on Yuba River two miles upstream from
town, TNF Quartz Picnic Area further up stream.
Information sheets available at TNF, 631 Coyote St.,
Nevada City, CA 95959; (530) 265-4531.
Information: More serious miners, contact Bureau of Land
Management, 63 Natomas St., Folsom, CA 95630; (916) 985-4474.
State Historical Landmarks
- #134, Donner
- #247, The World's
First Long-Distance Telephone Line, French Corral
- #292, Home of Lola
Montez, Grass Valley
- #293, Home of Lotta
Crabtree, Grass Valley
- #294, The Little
Town of Rough and Ready
- #297, Site of One
of the First Discoveries of Quartz gold in California, Grass
- #298, Empire Mine,
- #390, Bridgeport
(Nyes Crossing) Covered Bridge, near French Corral
- #628, Alpha
Hydraulic Diggings, Omega Hydraulic Diggings and Townsite,
- #629, Alpha
Hydraulic Diggings, Omega Hydraulic Diggings and Townsite
- #799, Overland
Emigrant Trail, near Grass Valley
- #832, South Yuba
Canal Office, Nevada City
- #843, North Star
Mine Powerhouse, Grass Valley
- #852, North
Bloomfield Mine and Gravel, near Nevada City
- #855, Mount Saint
Mary's Convent and Academy, Grass Valley
- #863, Nevada
Theatre, Nevada City
- #899, National
Hotel, Nevada City
- #914, Holbrook
Hotel, Grass Valley
- #1012, First
manufacturing Site of the Pelton Water Wheel, Nevada City
- #780-6, First
Transcontinental Railroad -- Truckee
Longest Single Span
Wood Arch Bridge Built in 1862
Bridgeport is one of only 10 covered bridges remaining
in California. The bridge is in very good condition
considering its age. Built in 1862, at 251 feet, it is the
longest single span covered bridge in the United States.
The type of
construction is unique, a Howe truss with an auxiliary Burr
arch. The arch is visible from the outside as well as the
inside, consisting of two five by fourteen inch timbers bolted
together, squeezing between them the members of the truss.
This combination, made from local Douglas Fir, and resting on
massive granite blocks, endured the weight of a 13 ton tractor
without excessive strain.
Today the bridge is
rated at 3 tons because of the age of the timber. The unique
design seems to have been taken from a plan or design prepared
by Theodore Burr for a bridge constructed in 1804, across the
Hudson River and patented in 1817.
The Sugar Pine shake
roofing and sides not only protect the timber from the
weather, but contribute an air of historic antiquity which
attracts many visitors to see and photograph it.
Lodging Directory ...
Vacation Rentals ... America
Vacation Rentals ... Virtual
© 1995 - =date("Y")?> ONS, Inc.